Today I was off from work for President’s Day, so I decided to try my hand at a couple of new recipes. First, I went to the store to get ingredients for pumpkin spice muffins, and what do you know, there is a PUMPKIN shortage, and so there have been no pumpkins since Christmas! I was so bummed out, but decided to make some banana muffins courtesy of my friend Jen’s recipe. They came out looking good, but they didn’t have a ton of taste. I did not make them right..apparently I was supposed to use really ripe bananas, like, brown, sitting out for a week. They have the most flavor. Well, mine had a couple brown spots but that’s about it. I can definitely see them tasting good if I did them right, not that they are bad, just a bit bland, but I am going to eat the rest with peanut butter! So here ya go:

Preheat oven 400F. Spray 18 muffin pans with nonstick spray.

Ingredients
1 ½ c. wheat flour
¾ c. quick cooking oats
½ c. plus 1 T. brown sugar
1/3 c. ground flaxseed
1 ½ tsp. baking powder
¾ tsp. ground cinnamon
¼ tsp. salt
3 small over ripe bananas chopped
¾ c. skim milk
3 egg whites
3 T. canola oil
¼ c. granola

Preparation
Stir flour through salt. Make a well in the center of mix.
In a separate bowl, combine banana through oil and mix until smooth.
Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients until just wet.
Scoop mix into muffin pans.
Sprinkle each muffin w/ granola.
Bake for 17- 19 minutes on 400®F. Cool in pan for 5-10 minutes. Finish
cooling on wire rack.

here are a couple pics I took:

ya live you learn, next time I will do them right!

Ok so my next experiment was taco soup. Most of you know I don’t like a lot of veggies, and try and find ways to slip them in that I can’t really taste. A girl made this for Bible study last week and it was really good so I decided to try my hand at it! I learned on this one too. I used Original rotel and it was a little too spicy for me, (I don’t like spicy though) so next time I will use mild rotel. Also, I did not do the stewed tomatoes.

Dump the following in a pot and heat on Medium on stovetop:

1 lb of cooked ground beef
1 can whole kernel corn
1 can Ranch style black beans
1 can rotel tomatoes-original
1 can stewed tomatoes (optional)
1 packet of taco seasoning mix
1 packet of ranch seasoning mix

Toppings: Cheese, Chips, Sour Cream

I usually double the recipe to last a few meals.

The last thing I made was chocolate covered strawberries, and I did the SAME THING i ALWAYS do, I cooked the chocolate too long, burnt it, and it got chunky. ug! So don’t make fun of how non-smooth they are. By the way, it’s Jen’s fault I made these! Her husband made her some and I wanted some!

So basically I learned a lesson with each thing I cooked today. I guess that’s how life is! We experiment and learn so we can do it better/right next time!

Today was strength training, I did abs and arms, may go to the gym for cross training tomorrow, we will see! Hope everyone had a good day!

