In light of the fact that today is Ash Wednesday, I thought I would take the opportunity to talk about willpower, or, my lack of it. I am very stubborn, and like to think I can do anything I set my mind to. My problem is, I get in the way of me. If I had willpower, I would run a faster 5k. If I had willpower, I wouldn’t eat sweets everyday, and so on and so forth. My point is, being healthy takes effort. You don’t just wake up in the morning toned and energetic and at your ideal weight, with healthy organs, skin, etc. It takes work!
      Now, I am not Catholic, but I have over the years attempted to give up different things, and guess what, it has been an EPIC FAIL every time. SO, I decided this year, to just not set myself up for failure and disappointment. Instead, I have decided to set a lent “goal” for myself. My goal is to be more healthy. That’s it. whatever that looks like. I want to look back on these 40 days at Easter, and it be obvious I am eating, thinking, and living more healthy. To give you an idea of what I mean, here are a few things I came up with I want to do: 1.)wear sunscreen everyday, not just on my face (which I already do) 2.)strength train twice a week 3.)try and get in more calories at breakfast so I am not starving later in the day 4.)try new meals that include veggies 5.)run every so often without my garmin, just for fun, for the sake of running. no distance or pace requirements, just run! 6.)Wake up a few minutes earlier in the mornings to mentally prepare myself for the day, calmly, instead of just getting up, rushing out the door, and eating in the car.

Do those things make sense? I covered skin, working out, food, mental health, etc. Just overall, a healthy me. I am going to try and keep track of the specific things I do so I can recap them all at Easter!

this is serious willpower!

Today I did some speedwork at the gym, I did 2 miles at a fast pace for me. Several times I wanted to stop or slow down, but with this new willpower thing…I made myself keep going and am proud! 🙂

