Today has just been one of those days. You know what I mean, the one where you want to go home, get in your PJ’s, not talk to anyone, and maybe eat a gallon of ice cream. (don’t worry, I am not doing this!)

So, that got me thinking about emotional eating. When I get frustrated, stressed, and bored, I eat a lot of junk, and I am not even hungry. Then, I realize what I did, get mad at myself, and it starts all over again. Now, I don’t do this very often at all, especially in the past 6 months or so. But when I do, it tends to be bad.

So I decided to talk about a few things to do, that I do, when I am tempted to emotionally eat. I will be honest, these things do not ALWAYS work, but more often than not, they do. Hope maybe these tips help someone!

First i try to figure out what is really bothering me, and then try and solve my problem in a way that doesn’t involve food! Sometimes if I take a walk, play with my dogs, etc. I have time to calm down and then reacess. If I am still upset/mad/frustrated/bored I try to figure out if maybe ai REALLY am hungry. I take a few bites of something if so, but just don’t splurge on 1000 calories!

As far as eating out of bordem, I try not to eat in front of the TV, and I don’t eat out of the bag, instead I pour a portion into a bowl/cup etc. I also have learned my triggers as far as time of day for eating out of bordem. When I am home alone, tired, etc. I tend to wander into the kitchen. I try to be aware of this and say “why am I in the kitchen again?!?”

Hopefully, these tips and tricks help someone as I said. The best advice, is to remember if you DO have a bad day of emotional eating, don’t beat yourself up. Tomorrow is a new day, and you can start over. We all do silly/mindless things and it’s ok!

Hope everyone has a good evening. I am still in a frustrated mood but I am not going into the kitchen, and am staying away from the Easter candy! 🙂

QOTD: Do you eat when you are in a certain mood?

