Hello readers!

I spent the day babysitting, and we spent most of the morning here:

Getting paid to do this was nice! Anyway, I was chatting with the girls I am watching at a coffee shop this afternoon and I can’t remember what got us on the topic, but we started talked about running, and the girls recalled when they had to run a 1/2 mile in PE. I also recalled this, and remembered how much my kids in my class moaned and groaned when they found out they would be running that afternoon. I got SO tired of the negative attitude and the complaining that I climbed up on my soap box and told them to shut it! That they should be so grateful that they can run, that there are kids in hospital beds, in wheelchairs, that would give anything to be able to run a 1/2 mile in PE. It got really quiet after that lol!

SO that got me thinking that I, too, do my fair share of complaining about running on a bigger scale ( a half mile is thankfully a breeze now!) I started looking at my potential marathon training plan and saw that my FIRST long run is 8 miles and I started complaining big time! So I am going to TRY to cool it on the  negative run talk. I am not perfect and I think sometimes we NEED to vent about running, but I am going to really try to keep it in check and be thankful I have two working legs and lungs and a heart pumping blood and remember that I am better off than a lot of people in this world.

So if you are in the south like me and it’s 100 degrees outside and 100% humidity, let’s think of it as a way to get better, grinding out the miles in the heat, and remember that it is making us better athletes even though out pace is 3 minutes slower than normal!

QOTD: What are you most thankful for?

