As I have stated recently, I am working on a marathon training plan. Today I was trying to figure out when to start my program, and thought about backing it up to a week early to give myself some wiggle room in case I get sick, or we go on a vacation or something. So I started thinking…ah, vacation! Working out on vacations can be tricky but also some of your best workouts, so I thought I would share a few tips I use when working out on vacation!

  • Don’t Stress out about it. You are on vacation! If you don’t workout as hard or as much, it’s ok!
  • Take advantage of your new surroundings. One of the reasons I love working out on vacation is it’s somehwere new to run, new scenery, etc.
  • If you have access to a pool, swim or tread water while your family catches some rays
  • Walk! Go for a hike or a walk and explore your resort, a new town, the beach, etc.
  • Speaking of the beach…running in the sand is a GREAT workout. I have bad ankles so mine are always sore after, so i take it slow and don’t do too much too soon.
  • Check out the hotel gym. Sometimes you will be plesantly surprised at the nice equipment or a great view out the windows.
  • If you are running in a new climate, especially a hot one, be careful of the heat and drink plenty of fluids.
  • Try somthine new! If you can rent a canoe, or go wakeboarding, try it out! Go try a ame of tennis or a round of golf. Vacation is the best place to try new things because if you mess up and get emarassed only your family will know :o)
  • Workout early before your day starts so then you have extra energy and don’t have the thought of exercise weighing on you all day and runing your vacation!

 

Today Bobby and I went on a 3 mile run. it was HOT, but…that’s ok! We sweat a lot, and I think this run was a litle better than ones I have had lately. I was pretty gross after.

QOTD: What is your favorite vacation workout?

