Today I decided to do 3 miles of speedwork. I am bored with the same area I run in and so i thought that by doing some speedwork, it would make the run go by faster. Well, it was more interesting, but the sun was so brutal. I kept trying to tell myself it will make me stronger, but it was so hard!
Now, if you know me, you know I love to sprint. Absolutely love it. I may be a slow distance runner, but I can fly for a short period of time! I alternated between sprints and walking, and on my sprints I stayed in the 6:00 minute per mile pace range. I feel good now, but right after I thought I was going to pass out.
I really need to sit down and learn how to program the workouts on my garmin, I know it would be a lot easier that way than just sprint for awhile, walk for a while, with no real program to keep me on track.

In other news, I have converted another runner! My friend Lindy has always been athletic and I convinced her to train for a half marathon to run with me in October. Yay! I love sharing my knowledge with other new runners!

In even more news, it is officially time to retire the vomeros. I really am starting to feel like they are not supporting my ankles when I run, and I don’t want to hurt myself. I thin I will start with my new kicks next week! (Next run is long run and don’t want to start with that!)

Did you watch Caitlin on the Today show? She did GREAT! You can check out her segment below in case you missed it: Caitlin: Operation Beautiful

QOTD: How do you handle speedwork?

