Good afternoon friends! Today has been a good day. Hubby and I went to the gym and I did a 5 mile tempo run. I was bad today and did not run according to what my schedule said. Honestly, it was a bit too slow/easy for me and I was feeling good and wanted a little “push.” My plan called for 5 miles: 1 warm up, 2 x 1600 @ 10:24, with 800 m jogs in between, and 1 cool down mile. This is what I actually did: 1 mile warm up, 1 mile at 10:20, 800 m jog, trip and almost fall off the treadmill, 2.5 miles at10:20, 800 m cool down. I was feeling good and wanted to keep going at that pace, so I did. Also, yes, I did almost fall. How embarrassing! I didn’t pick up my foot high enough and I tripped and definitely almost face planted. I just kept going and prayed no one saw!

After the gym we went to Barnes and Noble for me to pick up a book and my first PUMPKIN SPICED LATTE! Actually, its 90 something degrees out so i got the iced version.

681db0f5

Yum-o! To top off my fantastic morning, we went to Bed Bath and Beyond armed with coupons, and I got my fall Yankee Candles, yay! I feel like my day is now complete! We ran some other errands to get ready for the trip, and now we just have to finish packing! (Well, Bobby has to start packing…ya…) Speaking of Bobby, I asked him to do a guest post today on weight lifting. It is something I think is important, but I am not very good a it or well versed in it, so he agrees to write about it for me. So, I would like to officially introduce, my husband Bobby!

_PCR4313

Isn’t he cute? 🙂

_PCR4340

Greetings, I am Bobby Montgomery.  I am doing a guest post for my wife on weight lifting.  I am by no means an expert and my advice, of course, is coming from a man’s perspective.  We talked a bit about what I should say and decided on me giving a few tips for those interested in getting into a weight lifting routine.

A) Consistency: I said routine for a purpose.  More important than the latest trendy workout program is your commitment to what you are doing; as with most things in life in my opinion.  I’ve been working out in a weight room since 7th grade.  There have been times when I was not as consistent and I could tell a difference in the way I felt and looked.  Again from a man’s perspective: I’ve seen guys come into the gym and want to get buff and ripped quick.  To do this, they turn to the male form of a trendy workout and that is to the latest supplement and in some case, steroids.  Often times, this type of person burns out after a few months.  The supplements and drugs they were taking make them gain weight and they end up worse off than they were before.  (no to mention all the other side effects)  It is important to get into a regular work out routine and stick with it.  You don’t have to go extremely hard; especially at first.  With consistent work, you will eventually see and feel the results.  You have to make up your mind that you ARE going to do this and be consistent.  I tell the girls I coach that they have to make up their mind they ARE going to do the tumbling pass before they start running.  If they don’t believe they can, they often will not even attempt it and just waste time running down the floor.  “I don’t believe it.  That is why you failed”

The quote is at the end of this video.  Great wisdom from a great…thing.

B) Schedule: So you have made up your mind that you ARE going to do this, right?  Ok next we need to figure when you ARE going to do this.  I like to do a four day workout week for weights.  Preferable to me is a Mon/Tues and Thurs/Fri routine.  I focus a set of muscles groups each day.  I do Chest and Triceps on Mon/Thurs and Biceps and back on Tues/Fri.  If I was still very ambitious I would add some leg workouts into two of those days or at least on Wed. 

C) Muscle Groups: What?  Ok, think of it like this: generally, anytime you push something away from you, you are using your triceps.  If you are pulling something towards you, you are using your biceps.  When doing a bench press lift, you also use your chest, this is why I do tri’s and chest on the same day.  When you do a pull-down or row-pull, you use your back along with your bi’s.

D) Rest time: Muscles need time to recover.  If you do not give them time to recover, your results will be less.  Do not work out the same muscle group two days in a row.  Have at least one day in between focus groups.   Abs are an exception.  And while on the topic, I throw ab workouts in almost each day I do other workouts.

E) Rest time part 2:  Now let’s talk about the time between sets.  I would suggest 1-3 minutes between sets. The amount of time should reflect what type of “sets” you are doing.  If you are doing a heavy weight, low set count lift, then you will want a longer recovery time.  If you are doing light weight and a high set count, then use a shorter recovery time.  For beginners, I would suggest 90 seconds to 2 minutes between each set.  Be careful not to fall into the trap of doing one set per 10 minutes and spend the rest of the time talking or whatnot.  If is harder to track your progress when you are not consistent with your workouts.

F) Sets: I aim for 12 to 17 reps for each set.  When I was younger and trying to bulk up more, I would do higher weight and lower set numbers.  My joints do not appreciate this anymore.  If your goal is to “tone” your body, then pick a weight that you can do three sets of 15 lifts each.  Pick about 6 or 7 different lifts and do 3 sets of each.  Most gyms will help you get started with a free consultation. 

Well, I think that is enough for now.  Hope this is helpful to someone.

 

Thanks Bobby! I hope to have him do guests posts more often in the future!

QOTD: Do you have a weight lifting routine? Did this post help you?

