Ok, so it’s more of a joke…but still, an injury just the same! I went on an impromptu 5 mile run yesterday. I was going to do 3 or 4, but just kept going. Bobby was at work so I had nothing else to do, so may as well, right? From about a mile in I felt a pain on my right toe. I have had this before so I knew what it was. my 2nd and 3rd toe are longer than the other toes, so when the nail on my 4th toe is too long it rubs the side/underneath of the 3rd toe. Got all that? good. Well, thinking it would just blister or make a small cut I just ran through the pain. When I got home and took my shoe off I found this. EW!

 

warning, blood ahead!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

1222223c

 

8dd65c19

 

GROSS! I was totally not expecting that! I promptly cut my nails, took a shower and bandaged that baby up. What sucks is every step I take now hurts. Hope I can run tomorrow! I started thinking it would be no fun if something like this happened during the race. How will I prepare for it? I definitely need to start making a list of things to do before I run (like cut my nails!) and things to bring “just in case” something goes wrong. I can’t imagine running in that pain like that for 26 miles. my foot would be covered in blood haha!

 

Rest day today, like I could do anything if I wanted to, so it actually works out well. A big thanks to everyone who commented on my post yesterday. I was not expecting the great reaction I got, but I got a lot of encouragement and feel like I am doing the right thing for me, so thank you! I have not had time to respond to all the comments so I am going to go do that right now! Have a great afternoon everyone!

 

QOTD: Any foot related running injuries out there?

