Hello all! Awhile back, I made a submission to  Healthy Living Blogs about my first week of blogging. I have almost been blogging a year, and do NOT in any way consider myself an expert, but I do learn new things everyday. I know new blogs are popping up all the time, so I thought I would share some words about things I wish I would have known my first week of blogging. Here goes:

“What do you wish someone would have told you in your first week of blogging?”
This is a great topic! I thought about it for awhile, because there is a lot to say! Blogging can be overwhelming, and there is so much more to it than I first thought there would be, but, I love doing it!
 
1.) Don’t compare yourself to other Bloggers!
-This is SO important. When I first started blogging, I would look at other blogs and think their layout was better than mine, they had more readers than me, they had a more exciting life to blog about, and the biggie, they are more health and/or a faster runner than me. That last one was particularly hard for me because I am so competitive, and I thought something was wrong with me for not being able to post the same times as some of the girls on other blogs I read. I finally learned to chill out, and that everyone has different gifts and abilities, and the only person I need to be competitive with is me!
 
2.) Download Windows Live Writer!
-I feel so silly knowing how long I went blogging in wordpress, which I find very difficult to use, and how many hours I could have saved if I would have used live writer!!! Go, do it now…seriously, now.
 
3.) Read other blogs and comment on them. If you want to get traffic, you have got to have exposure. Go start reading blogs and comment!!! Other people will read them, click your link to your site, etc. Its a great way to get traffic and get to know the other great bloggers out there!
 
4.) Don’t be a slave to the computer. When I first started blogging, it was a very busy time of year, and I felt like if I didn’t blog everyday I was letting people down, that I would lose readers, etc. Well it was a great way to stress myself out! Why do it if it’s not fun and if you feel pressured to get out a post at a certain time? If your readers don’t understand, well, they will just have to get over it, and if that makes someone stop reading, then it’s ok, readers will come and go!
 
5.) Don’t make people have to type in a series of letters to post a comment. It will make it that much more unlikely that people will comment. I had this feature at first because honestly, I was scared of what people would say about my blog, but I have gotten over that and think it helps when it comes to frequency of comments. I post comments on my friends blogs that have this feature, but if I am a new reader and have to jump through hoops to comment, I probably won’t.
 
Now, I am by NO means a blogging expert. I do it for fun, and really do enjoy it! I make mistakes even still, and feel like I am always learning new things! I love that the healthy blogging community is so supportive of each other, it makes making mistakes that much easier to swallow! Happy blogging! 

PS-we got our golf cart fixed finally, we have had a grand time running around the neighborhood in it!


 

QOTD: What do you wish someone would have told you your first week of blogging?

