Evening from gloomy NOLA. It has rained on and off all day today (but of course the sun was out in full force when I was running this morning!) I woke up to something NO ONE wants to wake up to the week of a race…a completely stopped up nose and feeling weak, with snot going down my throat. EEEEWWW. Totally not fun. I blew it off and went for a run. it. Sucked. Not only did I not feel great but it was so hot and HUMID. Seriously, isn’t it almost November? Yes, it was really 92 degrees here today!

98fcf366

I ran around by the marina in my parents neighborhood.

93097ba2

I did 4 miles then met up with my mom back at the house and we power walked a mile. She then gave me a claritin D which I hate taking because they make me feel so loopy, but I knew I had to do something. It did help with the congestion but it made me feel weird and shaky. She left for work and I took a nap and woke up with a horrible headache and feeling sssooo tired. Bah! I drank a frappicchino to perk up some. I was so excited to find the lite vanilla here, we don’t have it in my local stores. Only 100 calories but still so yummy.

4c2a9ef3

My dad came home and I told him about my headache and he suggested I take excedrine migraine. So, I did, and my headache is gone and I feel better (other than the shakiness) but I know this is just the medicine and I am not really “well.”

 

So, this leads me to think about how I will approach the rest of the week. I was PLANNING on running 3 miles tomorrow and two miles on Thursday. I know I need to rest for at least one day, and possibly not run anymore until my half. I will re-evaluate tomorrow evening and see if I can do an easy 2-3 on Thursday. I will definitely be resting Friday for the Saturday race though.

  On top of rest, I am taking vitamins, drinking lots of water and tea, and and trying to think positive. On the up side, this race is NOT my ultimate goal. it is technically a fun training run to help prepare me for the full. On top of being sick I am still battling IT band issues, so depending on how that is doing race morning I may have to re-evaluate my race goals. This is not something I am good at, because I am so competitive, but I HAVE to think of my ultimate goal, and do what is best for my health and training. There will be other half marathons, this is just supposed to be fun! I will keep you updated. Hopefully I caught it soon and it won’t turn into a full blown cold/sinus infection and I will be good to go for Saturday!!

 

QOTD: What is your best get well tip?

 PS-don’t forget to join my two facebook fan pages on the right sidebar, and follow me on twitter!

