Ok. I get it. Everyone loves having an excuse. My alarm didn’t go off. My dog got out. I am tired. I am busy. My in-laws are coming over. My house caught on fire. (Ok, so maybe the last one is a good excuse!)

We all do it. What exactly am I referring to? Exercise. Movement. Doing something with your body. We make excuses all the time for why we CAN’T go for a run, head to the gym, meet our neighbor for a walk. Sometimes I have to step back and see if my excuses are legitimate of not. I think we are SO good at making ourselves BELIEVE we have a good excuse, that we just sit there and convince ourselves we are doing the right thing.

Does life sometimes just get in the way and you don’t have time or energy to exercise, of course. But, if that is happening every day, or even most days, in my opinion there is a problem!

When I think back over the past week, month, etc. and count the times I didn’t work out, or I cut a workout short, nine times out of ten it was uncalled for. Laziness is my problem sometimes, and I think it can plague us all at one point or another.

Why am I rambling on about this? Well, because the holidays are hurling towards us faster than you may realize. Halloween has come and gone, and Thanksgiving is on it’s way. I don’t know about you, but for me this is the month I start to get crazy busy and things like workouts fall to the wayside.

Granted, I am battling an injury, so I may not be running as much as usual, I still want to keep my strength and fitness up and NOT make excuses for myself over the next two months.

My Junior year of high school my basketball team adopted the motto of “no excuses.” I have decided to use that as my mantra until my full marathon (except for the REAL excuses like injury, sickness, etc.)

What about you? Do you ever just not feel like going to the gym, but instead of just admitting that to yourself you say something like I have to make finger foods for the office Christmas party tomorrow.

Take a look….both of these men could easily have some very good excuses for not running….(this is an old picture.)

bush_jogging

What is your excuse again?

QOTD: What is your most commonly used excuse when it comes to running/working out?

