Happy Monday! I hope everyone is having a good day so far. it is absolutely gorgeous here in Mississippi. I have been meaning to do a post on this topic, and since circumstances in my training have let me not run as much this week, I thought this was a good time.

I have been running a lot up until this week. Because of my marathon training schedule, I have ONLY been running. I used to cross train 1-2 times a week and do strength training at least one a week. That has sort of vanished in the past couple of months other than the occasional walk or doing a few push ups here and there.

In doing research on healing my IT band and in talking to experienced runners, I realized I need to strengthen my legs and glutes to help stabilize my leg. Not to mention, my arms are getting seriously flabby and my abs are non existent. I don’t really have a “plan” for this except to try and do a series of strength training exercises 3x’s a week. To be honest, I probably won’t do a whole lot with abs but will focus more on things to help my IT band and arms. I found a couple of YouTube videos I think will help me out. I would love to get some all over shape back and not just in my legs!

Also, today I tried to go for a VERY slow 2 mile run with a few walk breaks. I was going stir crazy, and wanted to see how my knee would do. It didn’t hurt, but it did get tight towards the end. I am starting to get really frustrated with this!

On a positive note, we are finally getting some fall colors in our trees around here.

ac703ee2

Also I had to wear pants and a long sleeved shirt to run. Bbbrrr!

846d2665

Ok, I am off to do some strength exercises. Please hold me accountable! I would love to make it to Christmas and say I really stuck with this!

QOTD: Do you strength or cross train? What are your favorite things to do for this?

