Happy Weekend! Well, almost. I hope everyone is having a productive Friday afternoon! I have been semi-productive, which is better than not at all I guess!

Lately, it has become very apparent that my wardrobe is not exactly fashionable. Yes I bought a pair of cute brown boots I have worn over skinny jeans all of 3 times, but other than that, I pretty much live in one of two things: A pair of jeans and a race shirt, or sweatpants and a t-shirt. I never really thought about it as being strange, as my husband wears the same things, until this morning when I got dressed to go do some Christmas shopping. Without much thought I put on “the usual” and then realized that my “usual” is not very fashionable or dressy, or even dressy-casual.

DSC_0759

Silly me, I was trying to get the side of the pants where it says “LSU Tigers” but then I realized my shirt was covering up the L….good job Heather!

DSC_0761

So…anyway, I must admit, this is the most comfortable outfit ever! Also, what did I buy while I was out? A New Orleans Saints hoodie. Oh yes. More high fashion for me!

When I got home I decided to look through my closet and see what I had. (Remember, I am at my parents so I only have a handful of clothes here) The majority of my clothes are t-shirts with a few pairs of athletic shorts and sweatpants. I have a whole drawer of running skirts and tops, and I just bought a cold weather running zip up top. Wow. I have a problem! I haven’t worn khaki or black pants since the Spring, and now that I am working from home the only time I ever put on “real” clothes is to go to dinner or to the store, and even then it’s usually just a t-shirt. I am not saying this is a “problem” but I am slightly concerned at how boring my wardrobe is. I guess it is the runners plight! I have contemplated wearing my running skirts in public just to run around town, but I think my husband would kill me.

So, I have decided to put a plan into action. I am going to try really hard to be more aware of what I put on. When I wear jeans to dinner I am going to try to NOT wear a race shirt or anything dri fit.

I will NOT wear a running hat everywhere I go just so I don’t have to put makeup on.

I will NOT wear tennis shoes every day.

I will NOT wear my hair in a ponytail 7 days a week.

I will say it again, there is nothing wrong with wearing sweats or running clothes but if it’s everyday in my opinion there should be a little variety. I will admit to, as time consuming as it is to actually fix my hair, put on makeup and wear cute clothes…I feel much more self confident when I actually take the time to do it.

SO hopefully, when I post pictures of myself on here from now on, they won’t all be of me in running clothes, a hat, and a ponytail! Hold me to it! Yes, I am a proud runner, but I am also a 25 year old girl and it’s fun to be girly and sassy sometimes!

 

QOTD: What is your wardrobe like? Do you ever fall into the runner’s wardrobe trap?

