Tomorrow is the one month countdown to my first marathon. Since I missed 6 weeks of crucial training, I have been a little down/nervous about it. This morning, I watched last night’s episode of the Biggest Loser. I was excited about this episode because every year it is a great motivation. It was the episode where the final four contestants run a marathon.

     Every season I watch, I cry, I get inspired. BUT, this is the first season I have watched where I have been personally training for a marathon. I can say this really was the pick me up I needed today! My two favorite contestants, Patrick and Ada, are part of the final 4. Ada is awesome and so strong and competitive, and Patrick is a Mississippi boy from about an hour or so away from where I live. I have been rooting for those two the whole time!

A little background:

Patrick started the show at 400 pounds. He is 27 years old and married with two little boys.

before

patrick-house-biggest-loser_web

now, running the marathon with fellow contestant Frado.

RTEmagicC_c793ad91ab_jpg

Also, we have awesome Ada before at 278 pounds:

NUP_140332_0138

and now running the marathon:

RTEmagicC_424382b50e_jpg

Patrick finished the marathon in 5 hours and 45 minutes (approx) and Ada finished in 4 hours 39 minutes, smashing the female record for the Biggest Loser marathon. Frado, the 3rd contestant finished just after Patrick, and Elizabeth, the 4th contestant, who had only run a long distance of 8 miles before the race (a stupid move) finished in 7 hours and something.

It was so inspiring hearing their stories and seeing their progress, I thought, if they can go from their previous weights to current weights, which is still not where they want to be, all in 3 months, then I can do it too.

Yes, I know I am undertrained, and coming back from an injury, but my goals do not revolve around time. I just want to FINISH and HAVE FUN. It is such a great accomplishment in itself to run a marathon, even if your time isn’t what you wanted it to be. I need to stop being so hard on myself and realize I have come so far in this past year of distance running, and I should be proud of myself.

As a blogger it’s easy to get caught up in PR’s and what other bloggers are running. Yes, I may be slow, but I have PR’ed in all of my half marathons (4 of them) and now I am a month out from my first marathon, all within a year. I think that is definitely something to be proud of! So, as Biggest Loser says…What have YOU done today to make you feel proud?

(by the way…that IS the questions of the day!)

Be sure to watch the finale next Tuesday!

-You can follow me on Twitter or join my FB fan pages on the right hand column of my blog.

